Psalm 41

I am terrible at finishing projects, but here is the final Psalm from our Psalm study, one month later.

Overview

    This Psalm shares that God will take care of those who take care of the poor, even healing that person when he is sick. David is begging God for forgiveness and protection from his enemies. His enemies are gossiping about him and hoping for his death. Even his close friend has turned from him and cast him out. Through all of this David knows that God is still providing for him and taking care of him, establishing him. He ends the Psalm and Book 1 of the Psalms by praising God.

Characters

    The Lord, the poor, David, enemies, his closest friend.

Key Verse

Verse 11 “By this I know that you delight in me: my enemy will not shout in triumph over me.”

Cross References

2 Samuel 15:25-26 “Then the king said to Zadok, “Carry the ark of God back into the city. If I find favor in the eyes of the Lord, he will bring me back and let me see both it and his dwelling place. But if he says, ‘I have no pleasure in you,’ behold, here I am, let him do to me what seems good to him.””

Conclusion

    This Psalm was really hard for me. I read it the day I was supposed to post it back in August, but it was too painfully close to how I was feeling. The day before we had a conflict come up with someone upset at us from our team that completely blindsided me. I am still reeling I realize since I haven’t read any more in the Bible on my own since then. I have continued to read Davy’s devotional every night, and we have had several family church Sundays where we read the Bible and a study together as a family. But reading on my own in quiet time has hurt a lot. I have felt that my “enemies” are shouting victory, that the lack of resolution leaves me knowing they get to feel how they want, and I have to get over it. I just can’t seem to get over it. This was supposed to be people who care for us, and while not our closest friend, it has hurt badly because we have very few friends here. Losing that friendship, though it was shallow and small still, has been a huge loss to me.

    In addition to struggles with people on our team, I have been struggling with some internal issues as well, which I know have been made worse by my lack of Quiet Time. I have been reading a book that has been helping me look at some of my personal issues as well as our conflicts in a Biblical light, and that has provided the healing that allowed me to finally write this post. Once again, my eternal life is secure, and I have victory in Christ. But many times in the moment it only feels like I am beat up and left for dead by those who I expected to take care of me. Expectations vs. Reality all over again, an ongoing learning experience.

    But I do continue to praise God, and there are so many amazing things happening that I cannot live in this shame and sorrow. I must let God heal me along the way. And I must pray for those who have hurt me.

Jesus in the Psalm

    “Here David voices every person’s need for redeeming grace…Such experiences should drive us to David’s Greater Son, who came to provide holistic salvation.”*

Luke 4:17-19 “And the scroll of the prophet Isaiah was given to him. He unrolled the scroll and found the place where it was written, “The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he has anointed me to proclaim good news to the poor. He has sent me to proclaim liberty to the captives and recovering of sight to the blind, to set at liberty those who are oppressed, to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor.” And he rolled up the scroll and gave it back to the attendant and sat down. And the eyes of all in the synagogue were fixed on him. And he began to say to them, “Today this Scripture has been fulfilled in your hearing.””

James 5:15 “And the prayer of faith will save the one who is sick, and the Lord will raise him up. And if he has committed sins, he will be forgiven.”

    This next quote from my commentary is exactly what I am struggling with, the brokenness of relationships here on earth:

“As image-bearers of a Trinitarian God, we were made to live in community. But sin has fragmented relationships. Christ, who suffered betrayal by a “close friend,” comes to the aid of the brokenhearted (Ps. 41:7-9; Heb. 2:17; John 13:18).”*

Hebrews 2:14-18 “Since therefore the children share in flesh and blood, he himself likewise partook of the same things, that through death he might destroy the one who has the power of death, that is, the devil, and deliver all those who through fear of death were subject to lifelong slavery. For surely it is not angels that he helps, but he helps the offspring of Abraham. Therefore he had to be made like his brothers in every respect, so that he might become a merciful and faithful high priest in the service of God to make propitiation for the sins of the people. For because he himself has suffered when tempted, he is able to help those who are being tempted.”

John 13:18 “I am not speaking of all of you; I know whom I have chosen. But the Scripture will be fulfilled, ‘He who ate my bread has lifted his heel against me.'”

    “Jesus also redeems our emotions. Because God was pleased with his Son, he is pleased with those who are united to him (Matt. 3:17; 17:5). Living in that pleasure enabled Christ to persevere through his mission to save, and it motivates us to obey the Lord with confidence that he will vindicate us (Luke 1:71; 10:19; Heb. 10:13).

Matthew 3:16-17 “And when Jesus was baptized, immediately he went up from the water, and behold, the heavens were opened to him, and he saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove and coming to rest on him; and behold, a voice from heaven said, “This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased.””

Matthew 17:5-8 “He was still speaking when, behold, a bright cloud overshadowed them, and a voice from the cloud said, “This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased; listen to him.” When the dsiciples heard this, they fell on their faces and were terrified. But Jesus came and touched them, saying, “Rise, and have no fear.” And when they lifted up their eyes, they saw no one but Jesus only.”

Luke 1:71 “that we should be saved from our enemies and from the hand of all who hate us;”

Luke 10:19-20 “Behold, I have given you authority to tread on serpents and scorpions, and over all the power of the enemy, and nothing shall hurt you. Nevertheless, do not rejoice in this, that the spirits are subject to you, but rejoice that your names are written in heaven.””

Hebrews 10:12-13 “But when Christ had offered for all time a single sacrifice for sins, he sat down at the right hand of God, waiting from that time until his enemies should be made a footstool for his feet.”

Feel Free to Press Unsubscribe if you are finished with the Blog Bible Study. I may post more studies in the future, but I have no current plans.

*Note: I am using the ESV Gospel Transformation Bible for the Jesus in the Psalm section, so these are paraphrases and quotes from the commentary with my own ideas sprinkled in.

Thank you for reading. I am excited to hear your key verses, observations, and thoughts! Please leave a comment to share them with us.

To see the other posts in this study CLICK HERE

Leave a Reply

