Psalm 40

Well, we are almost to the end of Book 1 of Psalms. Psalm 41 is the last one, in fact. I will be focusing in on Romans, and as Louis gets better maybe we can do more than one each week, but I hope this Psalms study has helped you build a daily habit of Bible reading.

Next Week: Psalm 41 & Romans 8

Overview

This Psalm shares about the relationship between David and God. He waits patiently on the Lord and God responds to him. God gives him sturdy ground and deliverance, even teaching him the Psalms that he writes. Because of God’s salvation, many turn to God. And God grants that same relationship to all who turn to him, blessing them and hearing when they call. God does not need sacrifice from us, but to have us delight in following Him wholeheartedly. We must share the gospel of Jesus Christ without holding back, without hiding it in our own hearts. God will not keep his mercy and love from us. When we pray that others will fall who try to harm us, it is in knowing that God should be known by all who know us. If we merely pray curses on others without living lives that share the gospel, we are not fulfilling God’s will. Instead, as we share God’ salvation and love in our lives, others who may have been those who would have harmed us can turn to God. If not, then God will deal with them. We can seek God, with full trust in His speedy help in times of need, and that He is never far away, and always knows what is happening with our lives.

Characters

David—the Psalmist, the Lord, the man who puts his trust in the Lord, the proud, the great congregation, those who seek to snatch my life away, those who delight in my hurt

Key Verse

Verse 9    “I have told the glad news of deliverance in the great congregation; behold, I have not restrained my lips, as you know, O Lord.”

Cross References

Psalm 22:25 “From you comes my praise in the great congregation; my vows I will perform before those who fear him.”

Psalm 119:13 “With my lips I declare all the rules of your mouth.”

Acts 20:18-21, 26-27 “And when they came to him, he said to them: “You yourselves know how I lived among you the whole time from the first day that I set foot in Asia, serving the Lord with all humility and with tears and with trials that happened to me through the plots of the Jews; how I did not shrink from declaring to you anything that was profitable, and teaching you in public and from house to house, testifying both to Jews and to Greeks of repentance toward God and of faith in our Lord Jesus Christ…Therefore I testify to you this day that I am innocent of the blood of all of you, for I did not shrink from declaring to you the whole counsel of God.”

Joshua 22:22 “”The Mighty One, God, the Lord! The Mighty One, God, the Lord! He knows; and let Israel itself know! If it was in rebellion or in breach of faith against the Lord, do not spare us today”

Conclusion

    God is all knowing, and He sees the motives of our heart. Because Jesus died for us, we now have forgiveness. Before Jesus our sins would have weighed on us like David’s, never fully being erased. We are so blessed to seek and trust the Lord. We can’t help but tell everyone of His goodness as we strive to become closer to Him.

Jesus in the Psalm

“Throughout history, Christians have viewed the Psalter ultimately as a collection of Christ’s prayers. The way this psalm occurs in the New Testament reinforces that conviction. In fact, Hebrews 10:5-7 quotes Psalm 40:6-7 and attributes the words to Christ.”*

Hebrews 10:5-7 “Consequently, when Christ came into the world, he said, “Sacrifices and offerings you have not desired, but a body have you prepared for me; in burnt offerings and sin offerings you have taken no pleasure. Then I said, ‘Behold, I have to do your will, O God, as it is written of me in the scroll of the book.'””

“With this perspective, the psalm also provides insight into our Redeemer’s earthly experience, which melts our hearts and shapes our service for him. The opening stanza can also be used to describe Christ being delivered from the “miry bog” of death and raised to “set [his] feet” upon a “rock” of God’s provision (vv. 1-2). From that place, our risen King empowers our worship (v. 3; cf. Heb. 2:12) and enables us to work “wondrous deeds” (Ps. 40:5; cf. John 14:12). As an obedient Son, Jesus humbled himself to save the world his Father loved (Ps. 40:6-8). Jesus the Prophet taught God’s “love” and “faithfulness” (Ps. 40:9-10; cf. John 17:8, 14).”*

Hebrews 2:10-12 “For it was fitting that he, for whom and by whom all things exist, in bringing many sons to glory, should make the founder of their salvation perfect through suffering. For he who sanctifies and those who are sanctified all have one source. That is why he is not ashamed to call them brothers, saying, “I will tell of your name to my brothers; in the midst of the congregation I will sing your praise.””

John 14:12 “”Truly, truly, I say to you, whoever believes in me will also do the works that I do; and greater works than these will he do, because I am going to the Father.”

John 17:8, 14 “For I have given them the words that you gave me, and they have received them and have come to know in truth that I came from you; and they have believed that you sent me…I have given them your word, and the world has hated them because they are not of the world, just as I am not of the world.”

“Believers should read through this psalm first with the effort to make it their own prayer. Then we should read it again with the comfort that, because Christ prayed it perfectly, he can enable his disciples where our faith is weak.”*

Monday: Last Psalm of is Book 1, Psalm 41

*Note: I am using the ESV Gospel Transformation Bible for the Jesus in the Psalm section, so these are paraphrases and quotes from the commentary with my own ideas sprinkled in.

Thank you for reading. I am excited to hear your key verses, observations, and thoughts! Please leave a comment to share them with us.

To receive this Bible Study in your email CLICK HERE

To see the other posts in this study CLICK HERE

One thought on “Psalm 40

  1. It seems to me that it is sometimes difficult to select a “key verse” because of the implication that another verse is not key. I think a key verse is the one that stands out to the individual as significant for “some reason”. For myself, contemplation and introspection serve as a method for seeking understanding for that reason. The Spirit that lives in me is also guiding my mind, and I am wise to listen. Today, the verse, “For all who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God.” is what stands out as the key verse for me (Romans 8:14 ESV). Initially, this reinforces and reminds me that God has chosen me as His son. There is a lot more to this…maybe for another time, after more contemplation.

    Additionally, the strength of our relationship with God is presented in an emphatic way at the end of the chapter. Paul concludes his commentary with a passionate and determined conclusion that seems to carry the intention that there “ain’t no mountain high enough; ain’t no valley low enough; ain’t no river wide enough, that keeps me from loving you baby” (Diana Ross and the Supremes). Of course, Paul states this in a different manner; even though the message is the same. “No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (‭Romans‬ ‭8‬:‭37-39‬ ESV)

Leave a Reply

