Psalm 30

Overview

A Psalm praising God for turning his sorrow into joy, and asking for God’s mercy. Again, in the midst of his troubles he is praising in faith that God will answer him and thanking God for all He is doing. This song is sung at the dedication of the temple.

Characters

The Psalmist—David, the Lord, my foes, my soul, those who go down to the pit, his saints,

Key Verse

Verses 11-12 “You have turned for me my mourning into dancing; you have loosed my sackcloth and clothed me with gladness, that my glory may sing your praise and not be silent. O LORD my God, I will give thanks to you forever!”

Cross References

Exodus 15:20-21 “Then Miriam the prophetess, the sister of Aaron, took a tambourine in her hand, and all the women went out after her with tambourines and dancing. And Miriam sang to them: “Sing to the LORD, for he has triumphed gloriously; the horse and his rider he has thrown into the sea.””

2 Samuel 6:14 “And David danced before the LORD with all his might. And David was wearing a linen ephod.”

Jeremiah 31:4, 13 “Again I will build you, and you shall be built, O virgin Israel! Again you shall adorn yourself with tambourines and shall go forth in the dance of the merrymakers…Then shall the young women rejoice in the dance, and the young men and the old shall be merry. I will turn their mourning into joy; I will comfort them, and give them gladness for sorrow.”

Psalm 149:3 “Let them praise his name with dancing, making melody to him with tambourine and lyre!”

Psalm 150:4 “Praise him with tambourine and dance; praise him with strings and pipe!”

Lamentations 5:15 “The joy of our hearts has ceased; our dancing has been turned to mourning.”

Psalm 16:9 “Therefore my heart is glad, and my whole being rejoices; my flesh also dwells secure.”

Conclusion

How can we draw near to the place of God and not praise him with all joy? We realize our insufficiency as we are near to Him, and this, too draws us closer. We must choose to thank Him for his mercy, grace, and forgiveness rather than wallow in self-pity or continue trying on our own. We need the strength of God to bring joy.

Jesus in the Psalm

“Ironically, the weaker we feel, the stronger the Lord can make us (2 Cor. 12:10), like a house built on a rock (Matt. 7:26), or like a mountain (Ps. 30:7). Grace of such quality does not come cheaply; one must plead for it like a dying man pleads for life. But this is not just any dying man; he is God’s child, whose cry our Lord cannot ignore.”*

We also are God’s children and come with this same boldness.

2 Corinthians 12:10 “For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”

Matthew 7:26 “And everyone who hears these words of mine and does not do them will be like a foolish man who built his house on the sand.”

“But there was to come still a greater glory, “glory as of the only Son from the Father” (John 1:14). God raised Christ from the dead, triumphantly conquering death. When God hid his face from him, Jesus cried, “Why have you forsaken me?” (Matt. 27:46). Heeding the Son’s cry, God saved him from the pit and brought up his soul from Sheol (Ps. 30:3). Those who are united with Christ share in the same victory (Col 3:1).”*

John 1:14 “And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we have seen his glory, glory as of the only Son from the Father, full of grace and truth.”

Matthew 27:46 “And about the ninth hour Jesus cried out with a loud voice, saying “Eli, Eli, lema sabachthani?” that is, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?””

Colossians 3:1 “If th3n you have been raised with Christ, seek the things that are above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God.”

Tomorrow: Psalm 31

*Note: I am using the ESV Gospel Transformation Bible for the Jesus in the Psalm section, so these are paraphrases and quotes from the commentary with my own ideas sprinkled in.

Thank you for reading. I am excited to hear your key verses, observations, and thoughts! Please leave a comment to share them with us.

To receive this Bible Study in your email CLICK HERE

To see the other posts in this study CLICK HERE

Leave a Reply

