Psalm 29

Welcome Back! I hope that the short break gave you a chance to catch up on this study or to pray for us on our trip to Cyprus. I am excited to get back into the routine of quiet time that has been fading as that trip came closer and closer. Instead of waking up first and finishing my study before everyone else got up, I have been ending up doing it in the late afternoon or evening. For those of you in Arizona this is still an appropriate time of day, but here it has been getting to be a low priority. When my quiet time is a high priority and I am following my whole routine for quiet time, I am at peace and more full of joy, as is my family. It affects everyone if I have spent time with God and the Bible or not. So, thanks for reading, and if you ever struggle with committing to spend time with God every day, know you are not alone. But it is worth continuing to try to find that time every day, so let’s keep reading. Today we are picking up where we left off: Psalm 29.

Overview

This is a Psalm telling us to give credit and glory to God, which is His due. The Psalm is filled with the mighty characteristics of God. Specifically, much of the Psalm is describing His voice and its power. And this Lord described gives us, His people, strength, and blesses us with peace. He could destroy us all with a word, but instead He brings us peace.

Characters

David—the Psalmist, the Lord, heavenly beings, Lebanon, Sirion, Kadesh, the deer, his people

Key Verse

Verses 2-4 “Ascribe to the LORD the glory due his name; worship the LORD in the splendor of holiness. The voice of the Lord is over the waters; the God of glory thunders, the Lord, over many waters. The voice of the Lord I powerful; the voice of the Lord is full of majesty.”

Cross References

Psalm 110:3 “Your people will offer themselves freely on the day of your power, in holy garments; from the womb of the morning the dew of your youth will be yours.”

1 Chronicles 16:29 “Ascribe to the LORD the glory due his name; bring an offering and come before him! Worship the LORD in the splendor of holiness;”

Exodus 28:2 “And you shall make holy garments for Aaron your brother, for gory and for beauty.”

Psalm 18:11 “He made darkness his covering, his canopy around him, thick clouds dark with water.”

Job 37:2-5 “Keep listening to the thunder of his voice and the rumbling that comes from his mouth. Under the whole heaven he lets it go, and his lightning to the corners of the earth. After it his voice roars; he thunders with his majestic voice, and he does not restrain the lightnings when his voice is heard. God thunders wondrously with his voice; he does great things that we cannot comprehend.”

Psalm 68:32-34 “O kingdoms of the earth, sing to God; sing praises to the Lord, Selah to him who rides in the heavens, the ancient heavens; behold, he sends out his voice, his mighty voice. Ascribe power to God, whose majesty is over Israel, and whose power I in the skies.”

Conclusion

We must spend time recognizing the power of God. Thank God for what He has done for you, yes, but also praise Him for who He is. This is important in realizing how trustworthy He is, that He does not change, and His mighty power, His glory, that no man can see His face…It is amazing! We need to take the time to be amazed, to stand in awe of Him.

Jesus in the Psalm

“The biblical formula for peace is glory plus strength. As David observes a storm moving inland from the Mediterranean, he imagines a Redeemer riding the winds like a warrior on a horse. Rather than cower from this awesome vision, David concludes that this warrior comes to bring peace. No true worshiper could read “glory” (vv. 1, 2, 3, 9) and not recall the Lord’s revelation to Moses on Mount Sinai. Hiding his servant in the rock, God passed by, revealing his “glory” (Ex. 33:18-23). Surprisingly, his glory was expressed in that moment not merely as judgment on idolaters but as mercy toward sinners (Ex. 34:6-7). Thereafter, prophets and psalmists recognize that God’s sovereignty over seen and unseen worlds (Ps. 29:1-10) is mainly to prove that he is sufficiently powerful to have compassion on whomever he will (cf. Ex. 33:19). “Glory” then becomes the watermark of God’s redeeming love (Acts 7:2-4), describing loving kindness that can break stiff-necked rebels and forgiveness that can melt hearts of stone.”*

Exodus 33:18-23 “Moses said, “Please show me your glory.” And he said, “I will make all my goodness pass before you and will proclaim before you my name, ‘The LORD.’ And I will be gracious to whom I will be gracious, and will show mercy on whom I will show mercy. But,” he said, “you cannot see my face, for man shall not see me and live.” And the LORD said, “Behold, there is a place by me where you shall stand on the rock, and while my glory passes by I will put you in a cleft of the rock, and I will cover you with my hand until I have passed by. Then I will take away my hand, and you shall see my back, but my face shall not be seen.””

Exodus 34:6-8 “The LORD passed before him and proclaimed, “The LORD, the LORD, a God merciful and gracious, slow to anger, and abounding in steadfast love and faithfulness, keeping steadfast love for thousands, forgiving iniquity and transgression of sin, but who will by no means clear the guilty, visiting iniquity of the fathers on the children and the children’s children, to the third and fourth generation.” And Moses quickly bowed his head toward the earth and worshiped.”

Acts 7:2-4 “And Stephen said: “Brothers and fathers, hear me. The God of glory appeared to our father Abraham when he was in Mesopotamia, before he lived in Haran, and said to him, ‘Go out from your land and from your kindred and go into the land that I will show you.’ Then he went out from the land of the Chaldeans and lived in Haran. And after his father died, God removed him from there into this land in which you are now living.”

“Finally, in Christ, we have “seen his glory, glory as of the only Son from the Father, full of grace and truth” (John 1:14). His sovereign ability to bring “peace” within the seen world was proven when he calmed the storm on the Sea of Galilee (Mark 4:39). And the one risen from the dead has unique authority to command “peace” to his disciples surrounded by spiritual enemies (Ps. 29:11; John 20:26).”*

John 1:14, 16-17 “And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we have seen his glory, glory as of the only Son from the Father, full of grace and truth…For from his fullness we have all received grace upon grace. For the law was given through Moses; grace and truth came through Jesus Christ.”

Mark 4:39-40 “And he awoke and rebuked the wind and said to the sea, “Peace! Be still!” And the wind ceased, and there was a great calm. He said to them, “Why are you so afraid? Have you still no faith?”

John 20:26 “Eight days later, his disciples were inside again, and Thomas was with them. Although the doors were locked, Jesus came and stood among them and said, “Peace be with you.””

Tomorrow: Psalm

*Note: I am using the ESV Gospel Transformation Bible for the Jesus in the Psalm section, so these are paraphrases and quotes from the commentary with my own ideas sprinkled in.

Thank you for reading. I am excited to hear your key verses, observations, and thoughts! Please leave a comment to share them with us.

To receive this Bible Study in your email CLICK HERE

To see the other posts in this study CLICK HERE

One thought on “Psalm 29

  1. Currently, I stand in awe of the mystery of God. I can’t even imagine all that lies beyond the mystery.

    Throughout this study and in my readings, I have been reacquainted in my mind with the verse in Matthew, “Seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, all these things will be added unto you.” I have had this message in my mind for some time now. It truly is a first step, and a way to regain focus. When I’m upset with something or someone, I am reminded of what else I must be seeking. It seems in all these psalms, and the outstanding book of Romans, the 33rd verse of Matthew finds its way into my consciousness. It is the first “thing” for sure; and that which follows is (it seems that it has to be) righteous by God and that mystery.

Leave a Reply

