Psalm 27

Overview

    David does not have less enemies than last time we checked in with him, he still has problems. And so do we. To be honest I have procrastinated all day this devotional time because I am nervous about our trip to Cyprus, and wanted to accomplish things on the To Do list. But to read this Psalm reminds me, too, that I am thankful for God’s providence, His love, His protection, His grace. And I am convicted remembering He is the one I should seek, it is His face that lights my life. God provides the life that I need, the strength, to continue.

Characters

David—the Psalmist, the Lord, evildoers, my adversaries and foes, an army, my heart, my enemies, my father, my mother, false witnesses, the living

Key Verse

Verse 10, 13 “For my father and my mother have forsaken me, but the LORD will take me in… I believe that I shall look upon the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living!”

Cross References

Isaiah 49:15-16 “”Can a woman forget her nursing child, that she should have no compassion on the son of her womb? Even these may forget, yet I will not forget you. Behold, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands; your walls are continually before me.”

Isaiah 63:16 “For you are our Father, though Abraham does not know us, and Israel does not acknowledge us; you, O Lord, are our Father, our Redeemer from of old is your name.”

Isaiah 40:11 “He will tend his flock like a shepherd; he will gather the lambs in his arms; he will carry them in his bosom, and gently lead those that are with young.”

Exodus 33:19 “And he said, “I will make all my goodness pass before you and will proclaim before you my name ‘The LORD.’ And I will be gracious to whom I will be gracious, and will show mercy on whom I will show mercy.”

Psalm 52:5-8 “But God will break you down forever; he will snatch and tear you from your tent; he will uproot you from the land of the living. Selah The righteous shall see and fear, and shall laugh at him, saying, “See the man who would not make God his refuge, but trusted in the abundance of his riches and sought refuge in his own destruction!” But I am like a green olive tree in the house of God. I trust in the steadfast love of God forever and ever.”

Psalm 116:9 “I will walk before the Lord in the land of the living.”

Psalm 142:4-5 “For you have delivered my soul from death, my eyes from teas, my feet from stumbling. I cry to you, O Lord; I say, “You are my refuge, my portion in the land of the living.”

Job 28:12-13, 23-28 “”But where shall wisdom be found? And where is the place of understanding? Man does not know its worth, and it is not found in the land of the living…”God understands the way to it, and he knows its place. For he looks to the ends of the earth and sees everything under the heavens. When he gave to the wind its weight and apportioned the waters by measure, when he made a decree for the rain and a way for the lightning of the thunder, then he saw it and declared it; he established it and searched it out. And he said to man, ‘Behold, the fear of the Lord, that is wisdom, and to turn away from evil is understanding.'””

Conclusion

    This Psalm sounds very positive, which is why I picked both verses 10—where we see that David is abandoned, lost, forsaken, and 13—where David is not feeling like he is in the land of the living, but believes God will make it possible. I also feel a little lost in taking my baby who got so sick last time we traveled on a plane again. I feel a little bit like I have no land as we will soon be traveling back to the States to fundraise more, and it will be a time of living homeless again as we are making our home here in Lebanon and will have to leave it behind.

While I think David’s positive attitude is hard for me to rustle up myself. These things are truths I believe and claim. God does not forsake or forget us. God has a plan, and He is looking out for us. Wisdom and godliness come from seeking Him out, seeking out Life that comes through Him, and remembering that Jesus’ hands are eternally marked because of my sin. My worry only adds to that sin.

God, please forgive me for my procrastination, my anxiety over this trip, and my desire to be in control. You are in control, and You are my refuge and strength. Thank You for redeeming me.

Jesus in the Psalm

2 Corinthians 10:4-6 “For the weapons of our warfare are not of the flesh but have divine power to destroy strongholds. We destroy arguments and every lofty opinion raised against the knowledge of God, and take every thought captive to obey Christ, being ready to punish every disobedience, when your obedience is complete.”

“To be in the friendly presence of God is a privilege afforded only to the holy (Ps. 27:4-9)…waiting on the realization of God’s presence is always the formula for courage in Scripture (e.g., Josh. 1:5-9). God’s people waited until his presence became flesh in Jesus Christ. No one could find fault in Christ’s perfection (Matt. 26:59). So, joined to him, believers now serve through their words and work as holy priests before the presence of God (1 Pet. 2:9; Heb. 10:19-25).”*

Joshua 1:5-9 “No man shall be able to stand before you all the days of your life. Just as I was with Moses, so I will be with you. I will not leave you or forsake you. Be strong and courageous, for you shall cause this people to inherit the land that I swore to their fathers to give them. Only be strong and very courageous, being careful to do according to all the law that Moses my servant commanded you. Do not turn from it to the right hand or the left, that you may have good success wherever you go. This Book of the Law shall not depart from your mouth, but you shall meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do according to all that is written in it. For then you will make your way prosperous, and then you will have good success. Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”

How’s that for emphasis? I was feeling pretty guilty up there before I prayed that prayer. Guilty that I was failing God, but He has been with me all day, and typing up this Bible study is not the extent of my relationship with God. We have, as a family, all been talking to God throughout the day. This verse would have been more fuel for Satan’s fire of guilt, but now I believe it is encouragement to me. I still feel that paradox pull between being excited for beach/IKEA/Lazarus’ tomb/family adventure time and plane/traveling/new country/nerves. But I know that God is with me.

Matthew 26:59 “Now the chief priests and the whole council were seeking false testimony against Jesus that they might put him to death,”

Just like David, false witnesses were needed to rise against him because no one had a case against him.

1 Peter 2:9 “But you are a chosen race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people for his own possession, that you may proclaim the excellencies of him who called you out of darkness into his marvelous light.”

Hebrews 10:19-25 “Therefore, brothers, since we have confidence to enter the holy places by the blood of Jesus, by the new and living way that he opened for us through the curtain, that is, through his flesh, and since we have a great priest over the house of God, let us draw near with a true heart in full assurance of faith, with our hearts sprinkled clean from an evil conscience and our bodies washed with pure water. Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for he who promised is faithful. And let us consider how to stir up one another to love and good works, not neglecting to meet together, as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another, and all the more as you see the Day drawing near.”

Tomorrow: Psalm 28

*Note: I am using the ESV Gospel Transformation Bible for the Jesus in the Psalm section, so these are paraphrases and quotes from the commentary with my own ideas sprinkled in.

Thank you for reading. I am excited to hear your key verses, observations, and thoughts! Please leave a comment to share them with us.

To receive this Bible Study in your email CLICK HERE

To see the other posts in this study CLICK HERE

Leave a Reply

