Psalm 25

Monday the 28th     Psalm 26

Tuesday the 29th     Psalm 27

Wednesday the 30th     Psalm 28

Thursday the 31st     Romans 6

Friday the 1st        Psalm 29

Saturday the 2nd     Psalm 30

Please keep our language teacher in your prayers this week as she travels to visit family in Italy. And pray for us as we take our trip to Cyprus so we can renew our visas here in Lebanon. Our last experience staying in hotel apartments was not pleasant, nor was our last set of plane trips, so please pray that we do not carry anxiety into this trip, but can enjoy the time as a family.

Overview

    David comes to God again with trust and faith. I imagine lifting my own soul to God. I think my soul is fragile and in need of protection, which is why it belongs deep inside me, but to lift it to God is an act of giving God my most vulnerable part. This is the image I see at the very beginning of the Psalm. Then he continues to ask God to keep him from shame, since he has waited on God, and it is those who are “wantonly treacherous” (verse 3) who will be ashamed.

David asks God to lead him in His ways and to teach him. Then asks for mercy and for God to forget his transgressions, and to love him. With praise and declarations of Truth about God, David asks again for pardon and forgiveness. And at the end of the Psalm, David prays for his nation who are in trouble.

Characters

The Lord, David—the Psalmist, my soul, my enemies, those who wait for God, those who are wantonly treacherous, sinners, the humble, those who keep His covenant and testimonies, the man who fears the Lord, his offspring, my heart, Israel.

Key Verse

Verse 3-5 “Indeed, none who wait for you shall be put to shame; they shall be ashamed who are wantonly treacherous. Make me to know your ways, O Lord; teach me your paths. Lead me in your truth and teach me, for you are the God of my salvation; for you I wait all the day long.”

Cross References

Isaiah 49:23 “Kings shall be your foster fathers, and their queens your nursing mothers. With their faces to the ground they shall bow down to you, and lick the dust of your feet. Then you will know that I am the Lord; those who wait for me shall not be put to shame.”

Romans 5:5 “and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.”

Philippians 1:20-21 “as it is my eager expectation and hope that I will not be at all ashamed, but that with full courage now as always Christ will be honored in my body, whether by life or by death. For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.”

Psalm 59:3, 4 “For behold, they lie in wait for my life; fierce men stir up strife against me. For no transgression or sin of mine, O Lord, for no fault of mine, they run and make ready. Awake, come to meet me, and see!”

Jeremiah 3:20 “Surely as a treacherous wife leaves her husband, so have you been treacherous to me, O house of Israel, declares the Lord.””

Psalm 27:11 “Teach me your way, O Lord, and lead me on a level path because of my enemies.”

Psalm 86:11 “Teach me your way, O Lord, that I may walk in your truth; unite my heart to fear your name.”

Psalm 143:8, 10 “Let me hear in the morning of your steadfast love, for in you I trust. Make me know the way I should go, for to you I lift up my soul…Teach me to do your will, for you are my God! Let your good Spirit lead me on level ground!”

Exodus 33:13 “Now therefore, if I have found favor in your sight, please show me now your ways, that I may know in order to find favor in your sight. Consider too that this nation is your people.””

Psalm 5:8 “Lead me, O Lord, in your righteousness because of my enemies; make your way straight before me.”

Psalm 119:35 “Lead me in the path of your commandments, for I delight in it.”

Psalm 26:3 “For your steadfast love is before my eyes, and I walk in your faithfulness.”

Conclusion

    I know I chose three verses and that led to a lot of cross references. It is an important arc to realize that we are sinners in need of a Savior, to ask for His help, and to walk in His ways. These verses show that very well. The Exodus verse also brings back up to pray for the nations as this Psalm did in its last verse.

It is too easy to forget to ask for God’s teaching. We forget that He has seen it all, and knows how to do it all. He is the best manager, teacher, and guide in all subjects, fields, and Everything! If you are struggling with anything, just ask Him to help you. He has the answers.

Jesus in the Psalm

“Forgiveness is not conditioned on dutiful service or sacrifices (Heb. 7:27); it is based entirely on God’s own “steadfast love” (Ps. 25:6-7). This love ultimately came to expression in Christ, who was broken because sinners broke the covenant (Matt. 26:26). The main distinction David sees between the believer and the unbeliever is instruction, another facet of salvation (Ps. 25:5; John 14:26).”

Matthew 26:26-28 “Now as they were eating, Jesus took bread, and after blessing it broke it and gave it to the disciples, and said “Take, eat; this is my body.” And he took the cup, and when he had given thanks he gave it to them, saying, “Drink of it, all of you, for this is my blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many for the forgiveness of sins.”

John 14:26 “But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, he will teach you all thins and bring to your remembrance all that I have said to you.”

John 3:36 “Whoever believes in the Son has eternal life; whoever does not obey the Son shall not see life, but the wrath of God remains on him.”

Monday: Psalm 26

*Note: I am using the ESV Gospel Transformation Bible for the Jesus in the Psalm section, so these are paraphrases and quotes from the commentary with my own ideas sprinkled in.

Thank you for reading. I am excited to hear your key verses, observations, and thoughts! Please leave a comment to share them with us.

To receive this Bible Study in your email CLICK HERE

To see the other posts in this study CLICK HERE

One thought on “Psalm 25

  1. I have been thrust into the experience of distinguishing the knowledge of God, the knowledge that comes from God, and a belief in God by Faith, in all of it various contrasts, with the experience of “knowing” God. I have been immersed in this fog for the past few days, contemplating on these concepts beyond the thoughtful exercise; but instead for experiential ones.

    I am seeking the deeper Understanding, the profound Peace, the exhilarating Joy, and other Fruits which come from the Spirit — that same source of Life that lays deep within. I suppose it is something like your comment of the soul “deep inside” that seems to require protection from its vulnerability, (the “surroundings” seem to serve as its protection; but inadvertently also keep it hidden) — as this application is mine own: that any knowing through pure experience is too often filtered on its way inside by everything that surrounds it; leaving little nourishment of an unadulterated type. In other words, the nature of having a protective coating serves a dual function. By the time “it” gets to my soul it has been painted by my limitations. I am protected and I cannot help but modify everything through the filter of that same protective coating. Hence, my experience of “fog”. It is as if I want to go and hide, go to the desert for forty days and nights, no distractions; like a monastery with no ordered or scripted rituals, just on my own so God can tell me what I am to “know” (as opposed to believe).

    To turn myself inside out seems best — as in the tougher layers of skin which are naturally exposed to the elements of both heat and cold, rough and soft, all with little affect; instead turn or flip to the inside leaving the most tender layer of skin exposed to the harsh world. Ouch! …but my mind is hungry and my soul thirsts for Truth, in a world that is counter to the same. It is so for me, and when I read David’s writing, this resonates within me again.

Leave a Reply

