Psalm 19 & Some Vulnerability

Overview

    The heavens declare there is a God, and how wonderful His works are, without any words. God’s law, testimony, precepts, commandment, rules, and the fear of the Lord are perfect, sure, right, pure, true, and clean. And he who is perfect forgives us from hidden faults, presumptuous sins, any sin that has dominion over us. He makes us blameless and innocent. And David ends with a beautiful prayer to God, “Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O Lord, my rock and my redeemer.”

Characters

    The heavens, God, the sky, the sun, wise, the heart, the soul, God’s servant—me.

Key Verse

What a great Psalm for helping with our Romans 4 Challenge to give something up to God and replace all thoughts about it with praise to God. There are some great verses to post around or carry with you or add to a promise box to fill your mind. Verses 7-9 are especially encouraging to me in Truths to throw at the temptation to not have faith or trust in God.

“The law of the Lord is perfect, reviving the soul, the testimony of the Lord is sure, making wise the simple, the precepts of the Lord are right, rejoicing the heart; the commandment of the Lord is pure, enlightening the eyes; the fear of the Lord is clean, enduring forever; the rules of the Lord are true, and righteous altogether.”

Cross References

Romans 7:12 “So the law is holy, and the commandment is holy and righteous and good.”

Psalm 23:3 “He restores my soul. He leads me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.”

2 Timothy 3:16 “All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness,”

Exodus 25:16 “And you shall put into the ark the testimony that I shall give you.”

Psalm 78:5 “He established a testimony in Jacob and appointed a law in Israel, which he commanded our fathers to teach to their children,”

X2 Psalm 111:7 “The works of his hands are faithful and just; all his precepts are trustworthy;”

Matthew 11:25-26 “At that time Jesus declared, “I thank you, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, that you have hidden these things from the wise and understanding and revealed them to little children; yes, Father, for such was your gracious will.”

1 Corinthians 1:27 “But God chose what is foolish in the world to shame the wise; God chose what is weak in the world to shame the strong;”

2 Timothy 3:15 “and how from childhood you have been acquainted with the sacred writings, which are able to make you wise for salvation through faith in Christ Jesus.”

Psalm 119:130 “The unfolding of your words gives light; it imparts understanding to the simple.”

Proverbs 1:4 “to give prudence to the simple, knowledge and discretion to the youth—”

Psalm 103:17-18 “But the steadfast love of the LORD is from everlasting to everlasting on those who fear him, and his righteousness to children’s children, to those who keep his covenant and remember to do his commandments.”

Psalm 119:4, 27 “You have commanded your precepts to be kept diligently…Make me understand the way of your precepts, and I will meditate on your wondrous works.”

Psalm 12:6 “The words of the LORD are pure words, like silver refined in a furnace on the ground, purified seven times.”

Psalm 13:3 “Consider and answer me, O LORD my God; light up my eyes, lest I sleep the sleep of death,”

Psalm 119:142, 151, 160 “Your righteousness is righteous forever, and your law is true…But you are near, O LORD, and all your commandments are true…The sum of your word is truth, and every one of your righteous rules endures forever.”

Conclusion

    These are statements of faith in God. Especially if God clearly gave you an area when you prayed yesterday about this, these are great to throw in the Enemy’s face when he comes taunting you. The example I gave yesterday has been my own, and it has been great for a day to not think about the things Louis should be doing. This morning I woke up with no voice, we had to cancel Arabic class, and Louis’ first discussion with me was that I need to rest and he will be cleaning the house, beginning, ironically with the chores I would not be able to do. I love him! (While it is not true, I am sure some of you are thinking, “That’s just you guys, so in love!” Well, let’s save my marriage for another time and I will give you another example of a seemingly impossible trust issue.)

When Davy was dying less than a week outside of the United States, I was not trusting God. Louis has shared with you how he and Pierre were praying and singing to God in hope that Davy was going to be fine. I trust that Davy’s place in Heaven is secure because he has a relationship with Jesus that many Christians should be convicted by, including myself at times. So, yes, he is unique in that. When he turned blue in front of me, I went hysterical, and began yelling and screaming at God. When he began breathing again seconds before arriving at the first hospital I was in shock. When they sent us to a different hospital because they were concerned that what it might be would not be something they could handle I was ready to die myself. When he started to cry, meaning he was finally rousing from his unconscious state, I was relieved, but did not join into the praise songs. I was mad, an immature reaction to being very terrified and not knowing how to handle that fear. So instead I was mad at God. How could He look on without care? But He knows what it is like to actually lose a child, while mine is squealing and playing in the other room with his daddy right now.

This lack of trust in God led me to helicopter about Davy for almost a month afterwards, waking him at night because I would go in and out of his room often. Even this week I had a terrible flashback when he slipped on some water and fell, I couldn’t move to him to comfort him because I froze up in fear again. But I knew that it is easy for parents to idolize their kids, for their kids to become more important than their marriage, and more important than God. So, I began this study, to focus back on God. And I focused back on my marriage, which is suffering in a new country with so much new, and being around each other all the time, and not handling the things that stress the other person out with grace, and not handling ourselves with grace.

I have worked through a lot of the lies that Satan threw at me after Davy’s hospital trip, but the one that still keeps hanging on is that I am not enough. I felt so guilty knowing that it was dehydration that put him in the hospital. I, who drink more water than anyone I know, did not keep my baby fed or hydrated. And the guilt I dealt with first, but this other lie, it just keeps digging into my soul. But God thinks I am enough, His only son also died, and it was for me. And God was right there, crying with us, in pain with us that we had to suffer in the way He suffered when Jesus was on the cross. And He has been reviving me, healing me, and, of course, He healed Davy. God did not bring us here to fail. He has a purpose for us. And He preserved Davy’s life. So, the question I had to ask myself was, (especially since my team leader said I had to answer it), “If David had died, would I still trust God?” Even for some of you, that question would be hard to answer because you all love Davy, too. But yes, I will still trust God, if David died, if the bombs fall, if we have another terrible time at the airport with cancelled flights and yelling hotel owners, I will still trust my God to lead me. Because I am lying in my bed at night asking God to search my heart, like David, and I am holding Him close so that I have no transgressions, and I am soaking up His grace, and HIS LAW IS PERFECT. This Psalm is not true only when things are going right, and it is not true only when we are perfect, too. It is true because it is true. Do you believe in God in your situation?

A question from the Romans study Louis and I are doing seems appropriate here as well:

What situation are you currently facing that requires faith in the God of resurrection and creation?

    This Psalm fits perfectly with the theme from yesterday’s chapter of Romans, and also with next week’s chapter which I was reading today. I pray that God works a healing in your own lives as He has been with mine these past two months.

Tomorrow: Psalm 20 & Next Week’s Reading Plan

Thank you for reading. I am excited to hear your key verses, observations, and thoughts! Please leave a comment to share them with us.

To receive this Bible Study in your email CLICK HERE

To see the other posts in this study CLICK HERE

 

One thought on “Psalm 19 & Some Vulnerability

  1. We have had guests these past few days, and I am a little behind in my study; but I can say that I have been attending to my action…

    I am forever encouraged by the this verse: “Blessed are those whose lawless deeds are forgiven, and whose sins are covered; blessed is the man against whom the Lord will not count his sin.” (‭Romans‬ ‭4‬:‭7-8 ESV), because I fit right in here. Then we even receive a rationale for Faith itself: “For the promise to Abraham and his offspring that he would be heir of the world did not come through the law but through the righteousness of faith. For if it is the adherents of the law who are to be the heirs, faith is null and the promise is void. For the law brings wrath, but where there is no law there is no transgression.” (Romans 13-15 ESV)

    And then we get the conclusion for Faith: “But the words “it was counted to him” were not written for his sake alone, but for ours also. It will be counted to us who believe in him who raised from the dead Jesus our Lord, who was delivered up for our trespasses and raised for our justification.” (‭Romans‬ 23-25‬ ESV).

    The bible is full of passages that provide us all we need to be assured that Jesus is with us, that He is the Messiah, that He is the Christ, that God is righteous, and that God loves us. Nonetheless, it seems that we are eventually (maybe continually) confronted with the “trickster”, who roams the earth applying our experiences of the world and of the flesh against that which we hold on to by mere Faith alone. The tighter the grip I have on Faith, it seems, the greater the temptations or opportunities thrown at me to loosen my grip.

    In my own little world, Mary and I have been recently overwhelmed by a progression of sickness and death in our families. My brother, who less than two months ago turned 63 years of age, has contracted a very rare cancer. It has been progressing very quickly, and now he lays in a bed at a hospice center. His body’s time is short for this world. The promise of eternal life, of Jesus’ promise to never forsake us, to be with us forever — brings my faith directly to the edge of my grip. God’s promise must exist in my faith, because the physical lives of so many I love and care about have been taken from the world or their passing is impending.

    I am reminded of these verses in Proverbs: “A good name is better than precious ointment, and the day of death than the day of birth. It is better to go to the house of mourning than to go to the house of feasting, for this is the end of all mankind, and the living will lay it to heart. Sorrow is better than laughter, for by sadness of face the heart is made glad. The heart of the wise is in the house of mourning, but the heart of fools is in the house of mirth…Better is the end of a thing than its beginning, and the patient in spirit is better than the proud in spirit.” (‭Ecclesiastes‬ ‭7‬:‭1-4, 8‬ ESV). Needless to say, I cannot give life; nor can I preserve it. I am impotent in this regard, and I am left with nothing but faith in the care that Jesus promises. It seems like I should be celebrating for those who are gone from this world — but I just don’t feel much like a celebration. I celebrate Davey’s recovery, and I celebrate Davey’s wonderful and capable parents, his loving grandparents, family, Church family, and developing friendships. But……….this too is vanity? I love what and who I love, and the “stuff” of it will all end and be taken. What remains is its spirit, its soul, and while I await its inevitability, I stand in my faithfulness. It’s all I have in truth.

Leave a Reply

