Psalm 13

 Overview

    Again David begins in a lament, and ends by thanking God. This is so important to our spiritual lives that we thank God in all circumstances. If we come to him in our present situation, no matter how we feel, and make sure to stick with our prayer and seeking Him until we can praise Him we will find rejuvenation to refill and reboot. This psalm is shorter than others we have read so far of this same type, and it makes me remember the times that I come to God feeling utterly destroyed and weak and lonely and within minutes God has answered. Other times it will take much longer. But remembering those shorter times when God granted peace is encouraging, too.

Characters

    David—the Psalmist, the Lord, my soul, my enemy, my heart, my foes

Key Verse

Verses 3-4, “Consider and answer me, O Lord my God; light up my eyes, lest I sleep the sleep of death, lest my enemy say, “I have prevailed over him,” lest my foes rejoice because I am shaken.”

Cross References

Psalm 5:1

Psalm 119:153

Psalm 19:8

Ezra 9:8

Proverbs 29:13

Ephesians 1:18

1 Samuel 14:27

Jeremiah 51:39

Deuteronomy 32:27

Psalm 10:6

Conclusion

God will revive us even when we feel done. We can trust God to take care of us always. I also realized that David is seeking God to look good, too. He is concerned that his own falling in others’ eyes will equate with God falling or failing. If only in my own suffering I was concerned about how God looked when others see me in my suffering. I might put on a better face, seek gratefulness more, or find the good in situations.

Jesus in the Psalm

Just as David “knows that “salvation” will come from God alone, which will cause David to “rejoice” (Ps. 13:5)”*, we know that Jesus is the foundation of this salvation we have. In fact, we can have even more confidence than David because of Christ’s death and resurrection. Romans 5:2-5 shares this confidence, and gives us words about true hope found in Jesus Christ.

Another part of this Psalm that reflects and shows how amazing our relationship with Jesus can be, is that we can never be rejected. Even if we come to Jesus as David does in this Psalm, whining, complaining, angry, no matter what emotion we express at Jesus, he will not reject us, as shown in 2 Corinthians 5:18-21.

Finally, God is not merely helping us survive, but wants us to thrive. He will give us these same bountiful blessings that David knew He would give. Once again this confidence comes through Jesus Christ. Read Romans 8:31-32 for this encouragement.

Tomorrow: Romans 3

*Note: I am using the ESV Gospel Transformation Bible for the Jesus in the Psalm section, so these are paraphrases of the commentary with my own ideas sprinkled in.

Thank you for reading. I am excited to hear your key verses, observations, and thoughts! Please leave a comment to share them with us.

To receive this Bible Study in your email CLICK HERE

To see the other posts in this study CLICK HERE

 

Leave a Reply

