Psalm 12 (2 Psalms In One Day)

Overview

    As I read the Bible I am constantly reminded of how faithless humanity can be. Within two generations, and often less, God is forgotten by those Bible characters we know so well. It is so easy for us to forget God, and even David, the writer of so many Psalms about staying focused on God, did some terrible things, turning his eyes from God to lust.

    As this Psalm explains again the vileness of mankind, I know it is talking about me and every single person. Yet, the Lord rises up and saves us. We do not deserve this. We deserve a God who forgets us, leaves us to die, for how we despise His name and turn away from Him so quickly and carelessly. Yet, he looks and sees us calling to Him, and He saves us again and again and again. He guards us, our children, our grandchildren, our friends, and His glory is made apparent through His salvation.

Characters

The Lord, the godly, the faithful, the children of man, the tongue that makes great boasts, the poor, the needy, us, this generation, the wicked.

Key Verse

Verse 5-6 “”Because the poor are plundered, because the needy groan, I will now arise,” says the Lord; “I will place him in the safety for which he longs.” The words of the Lord are pure words, like silver refined in a furnace on the ground, purified seven times.”

Cross References

Psalm 9:12 “For he who avenges blood is mindful of them; he does not forget the cry of the afflicted.”

Isaiah 33:10 “”Now I will arise,” says the Lord, “now I will lift myself up; now I will be exalted.”

Psalm 82:8 “Arise, O God, judge the earth; for you shall inherit all the nations!”

Psalm 55:18 “He redeems my soul in safety from the battle that I wage, for many are arrayed against me.”

Psalm 18:30 “This God—his way is perfect; the word of the Lord proves true; he is a shield for all those who take refuge in him.”

Psalm 119:140 “Your promise is well tried, and your servant loves it.”

Proverbs 30:5 “Every word of God proves true; he is a shield to those who take refuge in him.”

Psalm 19:8 “the precepts of the Lord are right, rejoicing the heart; the commandment of the Lord is pure, enlightening the eyes;”

Conclusion

    God is amazing! We are on the best team, and God loves us. We can depend on Him always, and it brings great joy to my heart as I read these statements of truth about God.

    To add to the challenge I would give the advice that if you find a truth in Scripture that you feel encouraged by, look up the cross references for that Scripture, and you will find others to encourage you as well. Instant piles of encouragement, like piles of leaves to jump in, will lighten your hearts.

Jesus in the Psalm

    The Psalm is asking for God to save them, which is Jesus’ destiny.

Matthew 1:21 “She will bear a son, and you shall call his name Jesus, for he will save his people from their sins.””

    I like that we are reminded that lying is sin. We make lying an almost acceptable sin in our cultures. White lies, pride in secrecy and lying of the government, and lives of hypocrisy are all praised in our world.

Romans 3:12-13 “All have turned aside; together they have become worthless; no one does good, not even one.” “Their throat is an open grave; they use their tongues to deceive.” “The venom of asps in under their lips.”” (We will be studying this chapter on Thursday.)

2 Peter 3:4 “They will say, “Where is the promise of his coming? For ever since the fathers fell asleep, all things are continuing as they were from the beginning of creation.”

    This Psalm describes the attributes of God as Savior, which is Jesus.

Righteous Man: 1 Peter 3:18 “For Christ also suffered once for sins, the righteous for the unrighteous, that he might bring us to God, being put to death in the flesh but made alive in the spirit,”

Words are Truth: John 5:24 “Truly, truly, I say to you, whoever hears my word and believes him who sent me has eternal life. He does not come into judgment, but has passed from death to life.”

Sovereign Judge: John 8:26 “I have much to say about you and much to judge, but he who sent me is true, and I declare to the world what I have heard from him.””

Eternal Protector: John 10:28 “I give them eternal life, and they will never perish, and no one will snatch them out of my hand.”

“Proof that the Savior is this promised Messiah is how he responds when he sees ruthless leaders plundering the poor (Luke 16:14-17, 19-31).”*

    So, if you are discouraged by the world, seek Jesus, the only one can save.

Revelation 22:12 “Behold, I am coming soon, bringing recompense with me, to repay each one for what he has done.”

Tomorrow: Psalm 13

*Note: I am using the ESV Gospel Transformation Bible for the Jesus in the Psalm section, so these are paraphrases of the commentary with my own ideas sprinkled in.

Thank you for reading. I am excited to hear your key verses, observations, and thoughts! Please leave a comment to share them with us.

To receive this Bible Study in your email CLICK HERE

To see the other posts in this study CLICK HERE

Leave a Reply

