Psalm 10 & Next Week’s Reading Schedule

Next Week’s Reading Schedule:

Monday    Psalm 11

Tuesday    Psalm 12

Wednesday    Psalm 13

Thursday     Romans 3

Friday         Psalm 14

Saturday     Psalm 15

Overview

    We get to watch the Psalmist (actually anonymous this time) receive his answer during this prayer. He asks God why it seems that He is far away during trouble, hidden. He then describes the trouble: the wicked pursuing the poor, boasting of his own desires, greedy, renouncing God, prideful, even saying, “There is no God.” During his explanation of what the wicked are doing he is asking God to do something about it.

    Then in the midst he also receives an answer. It is not that God is hidden, but “your judgments are on high, out of [the wicked’s] sight;” (v. 5b). The Psalmist continues to lift up to God all of the evil surrounding him, and calling on Him to lift His hand against the wicked. Then, at the end he does remember or realize or become aware of that still, small voice whispering that God is not blind to the evil or absent from those in His care. Finally, the Psalmist ends in praising God for being the king and being in charge of all justice.

    This happens to me a lot when I am writing in my prayer journal. I will write about the things God needs to help with, wondering why He isn’t in the middle of the situation solving it. Then, slowly, as I continue to feverishly try to inform Him of what is happening, I will feel His peace come over me. Then as I look back over my writing I will find lines that show God is in the midst of it all, and never once hid His face. My writing will turn to thanksgiving. In the middle of the trouble is the hard part, but we all love those stories of how God pieced woe and strife into a beautiful story of redemption. Let us all be like this Psalmist and have true hope, believing that God is piecing our trials into something beautiful. Let’s hold to the truths even when we don’t see the evidence.

Characters

The Lord, anonymous Psalmist, the wicked, the poor, the soul of the wicked, the foes of the wicked, the villages, the innocent, the helpless, the afflicted, the fatherless, the evildoer, the nations, and man.

Key Verse

Verse 14 “But do you see, for you note mischief and vexation, that you may take it into your hands; to you the helpless commits himself; you have been the helper of the fatherless.”

Cross References

Psalm 33:13 “The Lord looks down from heaven; he sees all the children of man;”

2 Timothy 1:12 “which is why I suffer as I do. But I am not ashamed, for I know whom I have believed, and I am convinced that he is able to guard until that Day what has been entrusted to me.”

1 Peter 4:19 “Therefore let those who suffer according to God’s will entrust their souls to a faithful Creator while doing good.”

Psalm 68:5 “Father of the fatherless and protector of widows is God in his holy habitation.”

Psalm 146:9 “The Lord watches over the sojourners; he upholds the widow and the fatherless, but the way of the wicked he brings to ruin.”

Hosea 14:1-7 “Return, O Israel, to the Lord your God, for you have stumbled because of your iniquity. Take with you words and return to the Lord; say to him, “Take away all iniquity; accept what is good, and we will pay with bulls the vows of our lips. Assyria shall not save us; we will not ride on horses; and we will say no more, ‘Our God,’ to the work of our hands. In you the orphan finds mercy.” I will heal their apostasy; I will love them freely, for my anger has turned from them. I will be like the dew to Israel; he shall blossom like the lily; he shall take root like the trees of Lebanon; his shoots shall spread out; his beauty shall be like the olive, and his fragrance like Lebanon. They shall return and dwell beneath my shadow; they shall flourish like the grain; they shall blossom like the vine; their fame shall be like the wine of Lebanon.”

Conclusion

    It is fitting that Hosea, a story of Redeeming Love, is referenced here. This Hosea text brings back into the narrative the need for repentance.

    Today is a challenge asking us, “Do you really believe what God says about Himself?” If we believe then we must let Him be in control. We must endure the suffering, learn the lessons offered through that suffering, and continue to praise God, thank Him, and shine His light everywhere we go.

    One of the ways that I cling to Truths about God is that I take the verses from the Bible that share truths and promises about God: His nature, His actions, His plans for the future, etc. And I write them each on a card and put those cards in my promise box.

Challenge:

Find 10 truths about God in Scripture that bring peace to your soul and post them around your house, office, car, or in a promise box where you can grab them out any time.

Jesus in the Psalm

“Psalms 9 and 10 are regarded as companions in biblical tradition. They refer to the same messianic King who will reign “forever and ever,” bringing justice to the oppressed (vv. 16-18)…Not only does this Psalm provide encouragement for Christians who grow overwhelmed with evil in their world; it calls them to pursue what the Lord calls true religion—to care for the “orphans and widows in their affliction” (James 1:27). This is the happy privilege of those who have been rescued from their own distressing sin and darkness by our Messiah.”*

James 1:27 “Religion that is pure and undefiled before God, the Father, is this: to visit orphans and widows in their affliction, and to keep oneself unstained from the world.”

    Since beginning this reading of Psalms I have been wondering about the enemies in these Psalms. Who is “my enemy” if I take these Psalms into my own prayer? Ask God to reveal who your enemies are and begin praying for their own repentance, that we may all be brothers and sisters in heaven.

*Note: I am using the ESV Gospel Transformation Bible for the Jesus in the Psalm section, so these are paraphrases and quotes of the commentary with my own ideas sprinkled in.

Thank you for reading. I am excited to hear your key verses, observations, and thoughts! Please leave a comment to share them with us.

To receive this Bible Study in your email CLICK HERE

To see the other posts in this study CLICK HERE

2 thoughts on “Psalm 10 & Next Week’s Reading Schedule

  1. Annie, just letting you know I’m still reading through this. I’m praying right now about how to make my quiet time/Bible study better, and feeling sort of discouraged all around, which is why I’ve had trouble responding. But I do like reading what you write and want you to know I’m out here paying attention, even if not contributing large amounts. 🙂

    • I never expect anyone to reply, I want people to be able to use the blog Bible Study just like you said, as encouragement in their own quiet time. Thank you for reading. I did 1 Peter on my own, and loved it, but was just not finding the motivation to read every day when I moved onto Romans. With this study, knowing that someone is out there reading my posts, I feel motivated to read every day and post what God is saying to me.

Leave a Reply

