Psalm 4 & A Davy Application

Overview:

God hears the Psalmist’s cry. God has given relief from his distress. People bring him shame and speak vain words, seeking after lies, but God has set apart the godly for himself. The Psalmist is taking his anger and meditating silently, putting his trust in God. Others complain that there is nothing good. God fills the Psalmist’s heart with joy, which is better than the wine and food of the other people. Peace reigns in his life because he knows that God is in control, and he knows that God hears him.

Characters:

The Psalmist, “God of my righteousness”, men, the godly.

Key Verse:

Verse 8 “In peace I will both lie down and sleep; for you alone, O Lord, make me dwell in safety.”

Cross References:

Psalm 3:5 “I lay down and slept; I woke again, for the Lord sustained me.”

Psalm 16:9 “Therefore my heart is glad, and my whole being rejoices; my flesh also dwells secure.”

Leviticus 25:18, 19 “Therefore you shall do my statutes and keep my rules and perform them, and then you will dwell in the land securely. The land will yield its fruit, and you will eat your fill and dwell in it securely.”

Leviticus 26:5 “Your threshing shall last to the time of the grape harvest, and the grape harvest shall last to the time for sowing. And you shall eat your bread to the full and dwell in your land securely.”

Deuteronomy 33:28 “So Israel lived in safety, Jacob lived alone, in a land of grain and wine, whose heavens drop down dew.”

Conclusion:

    I am blessed to have God. He is the one protecting me and taking care of every day and night. Lately fireworks have been going off in the night because of the World Cup, Davy has not been going to sleep well, and there is always more to do. But, since committing to waking up before Louis and Davy so I could have quiet time, I cannot just stay up with excuses (Pinterest would really help me calm down…If I just read the rest of this book…If I just do the rest of the dishes…). I must do as Christ has called me, Annie, to do. I must go to sleep and rise early to meet with Him. Because of this commitment, I am seeing the fruits of it in my days. My nights, therefore, are less stressful because I know that God will continue to guard, comfort, and protect us all. He fills my heart with joy and peace throughout the day. And I can come to him easily because I know He hears me.

Yesterday during my quiet time I was praying for Davy. Louis went to the center for a big chunk of the day and would be going again in the evening. It is the longest Louis has left us alone since we got here, so I knew it would be a tough day with Davy. I prayed that Davy would have peace and not worry about Daddy. During Louis’ and my Bible Study on Romans in the morning, Davy began to stress out and get very upset. We stopped and prayed and he felt better. This happened throughout the day. It was a different day and our little toddler was thrown off by it. While God did not give him complete calmness and peace, I was equipped to handle and know what was happening with my baby. Because of this, I knew God had heard my prayer. Knowing that made it not matter that He didn’t do as I had asked.

Davy consistently lists the people he misses and wants to pray for. “Pray!” he will announce, slapping his hands together. We will ask him what he wants to pray for, and he will say a name or a list of names or he will say “Miss!” meaning he misses someone, something, or somewhere. We will pray together. This week we hung pictures of family and friends, and he sits on his bed looking at the pictures and prays on his own, too. It is important to me that he knows God hears our prayers, so we spend some time every Sunday on Anamnesis, remembering what God has done for us. This Psalm expresses all of that.

Jesus in the Psalm:

    I love the wording “O God of my righteousness” in verse 1, and the commentary says this about it, “David confesses his sole dependence on God’s “righteousness”—his commitment to do what is right and to rescue his covenant people.”* It is true that we are not righteous apart from him, and we must recognize our need for a Savior, for someone who is righteous. When we are seen as righteous, we know it is all God’s work in us. “This principle of God establishing his name through his people assures Christians that God will answer their “call” (v. 3).”*

My commentary also makes an interesting comment, that this is an “evening psalm”, which is a psalm that talks about the events of the day. As we go to bed, we hand over the day to God in this way. An application could be to use this Psalm as a sort of template to pray through in the evening.

Let’s look at the flow of this Psalm:

  1. Verse 1
    1. David remembers what God has done for him
    2. David confesses his sole dependence on God’s righteousness
    3. With confidence in the Redeemer’s righteousness rather than his own, David boldly asks God to be gracious

Hebrews 4:14-16 “Since then we have a great high priest who has passed through the heavens, Jesus, the Son of God, let us hold fast our confession. For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but one who in every respect has been tempted as we are, yet without sin. Let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.”

  1. Verse 2
    1. David recognizes the problems around him
    2. And gives them over to God
  2. Verse 3
    1. David asks God to defend because God has “set apart” the “godly” for himself
    2. We can be assured that God will answer our call, too
  3. Verse 4 and 5
    1. We know we are God’s priority so we can call on him with trust, giving him our anger instead of taking care of it ourselves

Ephesians 4:26 “Be angry and do not sin; do not let the sun go down on your anger,”

  1. Verses 6-7
    1. The light of God’s face brings joy to his children but fear to our enemies (Exodus 14:24 Deuteronomy 30:6-7)
  2. Verse 8
    1. The remembrance of righteousness in verse 1 provides hope for the future
    2. The shepherd boy turned king rests in the promise that the Good Shepherd makes us “dwell in safety”

John 10:11 “I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep.”

  1. We have faith in this Savior who loves us with tender care, too.

Here is an example:

My Savior, the One who sees the entire day behind me and before me, as I put Davy down I see the people you have called into your family with us. You do the calling and I ask that you call those who we love, but are still distant from You. So many around us are walking without a Savior, without truly living a life of meaning. I know you hear me, and as I lay down to sleep, I can give over my anger and resentments and hurts from this day to you. Many of them cannot be solved because the world does not know what it is doing. But the light of your face is made apparent every day, and I pray that you shine brightly around us at all times as a family. I have great hope that you will not only give us peace and rest this night, but You will draw near to others this night in dreams, visions, and a longing for you. Bring our loved one into the fold. Amen and goodnight, Sweet and Precious Jesus.

*Note: I am using the ESV Gospel Transformation Bible for the Jesus in the Psalm section, so these are paraphrases of the commentary with my own ideas sprinkled in. For instance, the outline is my own way of summarizing the information in the commentary to make it applicable today.

It would be wonderful to get a collection of bedtime prayers from you. If you rewrite this Psalm and feel comfortable, please post it in the comments.

I am excited to hear your key verses, observations, and thoughts! Please leave a comment to share them with us.

To receive this Bible Study in your email CLICK HERE

To see the other posts in this study CLICK HERE

4 thoughts on “Psalm 4 & A Davy Application

    • We pray for you guys every day. Davy has your picture above his bed, and always makes sure we pray for you before we go to sleep. I am so glad we know you guys. Your newsletters encourage us, too.

  1. Annie,
    Early this morning 5amFri/3pmSat, in my sleep, I turned to look towards the sliding door of the kitchen, and there you were with your beautiful smile looking right at me. So close, so real. (vs.6,7,8) “Let the light of your face shine upon us, O Lord. You have filled my heart with greater joy. . . I will lie down and sleep in peace, for you alone, O Lord, make me dwell in safety.” Then, in peace, I gently fell into a deep sleep.
    At 9am I opened our Bible study and again, in peace, I ‘see’ your beautiful smile looking right at me.
    I love you so much. Carol–Cade

Leave a Reply

