Psalm 3

Overview:

When others slander and stir up doubt in your mind, rely on God. He is in charge of salvation. No one else can tell you whether or not you have salvation, but God, He is the only one who can assure you of your salvation. That assurance of salvation is well placed, too, because He is our shield and sustainer. He is the one who can lift us up. And He is a God who answers our cry to Him. We have nothing to fear from people.

So many verses here are applicable to anyone who feels attacked. Even by lies from our own inner voices or perhaps Satan, we can feel attacked. I know that doubt stirs up in my mind often. I had to read this Psalm through 4 times because I kept thinking about how this is right where I am, and then I realized I had stopped thinking about what I was reading, my eyes just continued to move. I have a friend who has shared about her own doubt in her salvation before, and I have my own doubts that make it seem like everything is hopeless. Perhaps you also have an inner voice influenced by the world or the Devil that seems to be trapping you.

But to wake up in the morning shows that the Lord has preserved me, and as I go through the day seeking Him, I will find His approval and plan for the day rather than remaining concerned about others’ plans. Then I realize I have nothing to fear from people, because God is in charge. And salvation, both eternal and from all bondage in this world, comes from God. So I lay even my doubts about little choices in His hand so that I am no longer paralyzed by even my inner voice. You take care of her, God, I only want to hear Your voice.

Characters:

Lord, my foes and enemies, myself, people.

Key Verse:

Verse 8 “Salvation belongs to the Lord; your blessing be on your people! Selah

Cross References:

Psalm 37:39 “The salvation of the righteous is from the Lord; he is their stronghold in the time of trouble.”

Psalm 62:7 “On God rests my salvation and my glory; my mighty rock, my refuge is God.”

Isaiah 43:11 “I, I am the Lord, and besides me there is no savior.”

Isaiah 45:21 “Declare and present your case; let them take counsel together! Who told this long ago? Who declared it of old? Was it not I, the Lord? And there is no other god besides me, a righteous God and a Savior; there is none besides me.”

Jeremiah 3:23 “Truly the hills are a delusion, the orgies on the mountains. Truly in the Lord our God is the salvation of Israel.”

Hosea 13:4 “But I am the Lord your God from the land of Egypt; you know no God but me, and besides me there is no savior.”

Jonah 2:9 “But I with the voice of thanksgiving will sacrifice to you; what I have vowed I will pay. Salvation belongs to the Lord!””

Revelation 7:10 “and crying out with a loud voice, “Salvation belongs to our God who sits on the throne, and to the Lamb!””

Revelation 19:1 “After this I heard what seemed to be the loud voice of a great multitude in heaven, crying out, “Hallelujah! Salvation and glory and power belong to our God,”

Conclusion:

    There are some excellent stories in the verses above. I think you could do a whole study on some of them alone. The fascinating thing about Psalms cross references is the variety of texts to which they send you. I might need to come back through here for more than just my Promise Box.

What is being expressed over and over about the salvation from God, is that He alone can provide it. Whether salvation from the stomach of a huge fish, salvation from a life of slavery or exile, throughout all of time, it is God our Lord alone who can provide salvation. Even from those pleasurable things that we think are awesome and filling that hole in us, but in reality bind us, God is the only salvation from those vices as well. I shared over the first two Psalms that my Christianese was being redefined in the word “Blessing” which was in our Psalm today also! Another word today that is standing out to me is “Salvation”. I tend to think of salvation only in terms of who is “saved” or not, but we have been saved from more than an eternity in hell. I have been “Saved” for many years, but I still need God’s salvation from that inner voice, from addiction and vices, from impatience and anger, and I am sure you can relate.

Jesus in the Psalm:

    Of course, salvation is found in Jesus, so an entire Psalm about salvation lends itself to sharing about Jesus. Jesus is the only way we can be saved for all eternity, and with Him is the only way to be saved from the sins in our life as well.

*The commentary also makes the connection between the “holy hill” in this Psalm and the hill Jesus dies on, both hills being used for sacrifice. But only the sacrifice of Jesus holds the power of salvation for mankind. This prayer/psalm walks through the three steps of saving faith: 1) Acknowledge that salvation can only be found through our Lord (verses 2, 8, and John 14:6 “Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the lie. No one comes to the Father except through me.”). 2) Agreement that I need that salvation and shield as seen in verse 3 and Ephesians 6:11-13 in the armor of God. 3) Finally, I must have an authentic commitment, welcoming this salvation from God. 2 Corinthians 4 talks about how the world has blinded the unbelievers to “keep them from seeing the light of the gospel” (verse 4).

Finally, here are two more New Testament verses which relate to this Psalm and our assurance of being on the winning team:

1 Corinthians 15:57-58: “But thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ. Therefore, my beloved brothers, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that in the Lord your labor is not in vain.”

Colossians 2:13-15: “And you, who were dead in your trespasses and the uncircumcision of your flesh, God made alive together with him, having forgiven us all our trespasses, by canceling the record of debt that stood against us with its legal demands. This he set aside, nailing it to the cross. He disarmed the rulers and authorities and put them to open shame, by triumphing over them in him.”*

*Note: I am using the ESV Gospel Transformation Bible for the Jesus in the Psalm section, so these are paraphrases of the commentary with my own ideas sprinkled in.

I am excited to hear your key verses, observations, and thoughts! Please leave a comment to share them with us.

Tomorrow: Romans 1

To receive this Bible Study in your email CLICK HERE

To see the other posts in this study CLICK HERE

2 thoughts on “Psalm 3

  1. Annie! I’m sorry I’m just now jumping in. We were in San Diego this last weekend. 🙂 I will briefly comment here and spend more time with the next passage. But I really like your thoughts and observations about this Psalm. I think the verse that stood out to me was verse 3: “But you, O LORD, are a shield about me, my glory, the lifter of my head.” Lately, I’ve been struggling with a tremendous amount of spiritual dryness and mild depression (mostly my own fault; I haven’t been abiding like I should in the Word and prayer, hence one of the reasons I wanted to do this blog study with you!). When I read that verse, it was really encouraging to know that God is the lifter of my head. It’s not like he’s requiring me to “pull myself up by my bootstraps” and get my own act together; he will meet me exactly where I am right now and do the “lifting” for me. I have this idea in my head that I have to somehow “get better” before I seek God’s help, like why should God help me if I’ve been so bad about the Christian disciplines, but I think that’s really a lie from Satan meant to keep me from seeking Jesus. Jesus wants me no matter what. And he’ll fix me. I can come anytime. He’s not waiting for an appointment or a moment or for me to get myself together and look presentable. He just wants me now. And that’s awesome. 😀

    You also said this: “What is being expressed over and over about the salvation from God, is that He alone can provide it. Whether salvation from the stomach of a huge fish, salvation from a life of slavery or exile, throughout all of time, it is God our Lord alone who can provide salvation.” YES! Dead people can’t save themselves! (Col 2:13-15). It has to be Jesus! And ultimately, he saves us in other ways every day. That’s so comforting to me. It means that when I fail, God hasn’t and won’t. It’s so much easier to want to please someone who loves you no matter what than someone who’s keeping score of your failures. I wish I thought about this more. I need to meditate on this truth more. God’s love for me doesn’t change. Yes, yes, amen and amen!

    • I have been struggling with this very thing for my entire walk with Christ, that I need to fix myself before coming to Him or even to others for prayer. Lately this has been even more of a struggle. I don’t want to always have problems, or still be struggling with adjusting to Lebanon or to motherhood or to wife life, or to cooking, or to cleaning…So, the lie is that I should know better, should already have learned this, etc. And I feel like God is saying that to me, too. But it isn’t true. I was talking to my sister and said to her “God called us to these positions now. He didn’t send us to Lebanon and you to this new job in the beginning when we could have been a part of the building process and making sure things were set up the way we would have liked. Instead, he sent us five years down the road, and He knew what He was doing. So now we just need to figure out what God is telling us to do now.” God knew I would struggle and didn’t fix me before I came in a lot of the ways I would have hoped, but He knew and knows what He is doing.

Leave a Reply

